Before & After: Nave Floor

Before.
Before.

The new floor!
And after.

Nave Floor Project

Cost: free
Time: a couple of late evenings and full weekends
Who: my boyfriend, Tim, and myself.
Objection: to uncover the beautiful original wood floor underneath the old carpet with little or no money.
 
View from above.
View from above.
Duke ready to help!
Duke ready to help!
Tim making things happen!
Tim making things happen!

First phase was to move all of my stuff from one side of the room to the other while ripping out the carpet. It felt really overwhelming at first, but that quickly changed as we began to uncover what was underneath (always the most exciting part).Floor with glue

But there was a lot of foam and glue underneath that carpet. I was barely able to see what the wood floor looked like. 

Scraping the foam and bagging it.
Scraping the foam and bagging it.

DSC_0422

A glimpse of the floor.
Ah! Floor at last, floor at last!

So we tested an area by pouring some water onto the glue, which was impossible to scrape off. The water worked! And this is when the dirty work began.

Close up of what the wood floor looked like underneath - already painted!
Close up of what the wood floor looked like underneath – already painted!
DSC_0458
This project took a lot of water and cleaning.
DSC_0450
Here is the floor covered in brown goo. But I managed to pack and fit all of my stuff on to the stage!
DSC_0455
This Vac was crucial when it same to getting rid of the brown goo and water. We had to pour water and Vac the floor a few times to get it clean.
Nave floor
Buckets of water and a few hard bristle mops were needed as well as a lot of scrubbing.
DSC_0460
Duke always found an island for himself so that he could watch.
My mom helped me tons with the cleaning! Plus was great company for our "let's have a beer now" time.
My mom helped me tons with the cleaning! Plus was great company for our “let’s have a beer now” time.
The new floor!
The new floor! This space is great for parties and get togethers.

Ah! The floor complete and revealed! So I was actually planning on refinishing the floor once I removed the carpet, but when I saw that it was already painted, I decided to save money and time by leaving the floor as is. I have done work on other floors in the church and will post about them soon!Blog post signature_Happy&Rural_framed


One thought on “Before & After: Nave Floor

Leave a Reply

