A visit by a few young folk

Wild River Academy Visit
Wild River Academy Visit

A couple of weeks ago, I met with three young entrepreneurs who will be moving to Minnesota from the DC area next month. They are starting a business, Wild River Academy, that will be taking out high school aged students out on canoe trips from Montevideo, MN to Minneapolis, MN. Of course, my first thought was, “how about trips for 20 somethings?” They did offer me a ride along during their run through trip in May, and I just might take them up on their offer!

Wild River Academy Visit
From left: Natalie Warren, Nick Ryan, and Anna Johnson.

Of course, I had to give them a tour of my old church and downtown Granite Falls. This is a part of my “isn’t living out here in western Minnesota so damn cool?!?!” spiel. I know it will work one of these days.

Wild River Academy VisitHere we are in the work trailer of Rachel Contracting on the Minnesota Falls Dam Removal site to sign in and put on our safety gear.

Wild River Academy Visit
Looking out on to the Minnesota Falls Dam removal site.

This is definitely one of the best parts of my job at CURE. I get to meet with other young, ambitious people who are driven to make things happen. These type of interactions really fuel me and my work.

Wild River Academy Visit
Natalie Warren of Hudson Bay Bound.

Check out Natalie Warren’s story, which is an amazing one, right here and here. For more about what Wild River Academy is all about, check out this and that. I am sure I will be seeing them soon paddling into Granite Falls via the Minnesota River. Until then, good luck!

Blog post signature_Happy&Rural_framed


Leave a Reply

