Auctioning off a historic church piece by piece in Lucan, MN.

ImageI have to admit, I went to this auction with my mother to score a deal on some church artifacts of some kind to use or display in my church. However, when I got to the auction, I learned very quickly that they were not only auctioning off items from the church but pieces of the church itself. To name a few pieces, the stained glass windows and regular windows along with the trim, all of the doors, railings, duct work, light fixtures, cabinets, etc. The auctioneer walked through the church with a crowd of people and auctioned off the church, piece by piece. However, it did not sound as if the building was going to be torn down since they asked people to remove the windows with care as to not damage the walls. But I could not help but wonder why someone would want to auction off the character of the old church. It was hard for me to listen to the auctioneer as he rambled on quickly. It got me thinking about my old church and how much I wished more of its original pieces still existed within its walls. ImageI wonder how this Jesus felt about all this.ImageAll of the stained glass windows were auctioned off as well as this beautiful altar piece. Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

ImageI won the bid for that red pew – $85. I love it, and it is the exact color I would like to paint the trim on my church. The building pictured above is an old school house. The building was auctioned off for $200.ImageEveryone gathering around to see how much items are going for and to visit with each other.Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

ImagePeople sitting on the red pew I purchased at the auction. Everybody seemed to know each other. ImageAnother purchase I made were these little shot glasses for $20, a little high for price, but I still love them.ImageThe old school house with all of its contents displayed on the lawn. We didn’t even know the building itself was going to be auctioned off as well. It has to be moved off the property along with the church.ImageThe interior of the old school house, all bead boarded walls and ceiling. This is where they were selling drinks and food during the auction.ImageEntrance to the school house.ImageAfterwards we decided to explore the tiny town of Lucan.ImageMy mom, Mary Gillespie, standing in front of the old Lucan railroad depot. The depot is now a museum.ImageBest part: Lucan has its very own brewery, Brau Brothers Brewing Company, and a Brauhaus! It was great to have a good beer and good food after a hot day at a sort of depressing auction. I am definitely planning a trip back to Lucan.


One thought on “Auctioning off a historic church piece by piece in Lucan, MN.

  1. I think your little glasses may be communion glasses — that’s what they look like. Looked like an interesting day and Lucan is an interesting little town!

Leave a Reply

